iMessage to a non iphone

Lynn Ash

Oct 4, 2013
Visit site
Hi

Please can someone help me?

My friend had an iPhone and broke it, she is now using a normal phone. I have an iPhone and for some reason I now cannot text her because it keeps wanting to send as an iMessage.

I have been in settings/messages and highlighted the button that says send as SMS if iMessage unavailable and I am now totally stumped. I have checked my update and its up to date ios7.2.

Is there anyone out there than could help please? I am not very technical so the easiest explanation possible would be great.

Thanks in advance

Lynn Ash

kch50428

Oct 22, 2010
Visit site
In your phone's contact list, is the friend's number listed as "iPhone"? If so - change that label to mobile via editing the contact, and tapping the label in front of the number.

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Write her information on a piece of paper. Afterwards, delete her contact information from your device, restart the device and then create a new contact for her using the information you wrote down. If you have her number listed beside "iPhone" change it. Hopefully this will work for you.

Lynn Ash

Oct 4, 2013
Visit site
Hi Justme'D

I deleted the contact (it wasn't listed as iPhone in the contacts), I have created a new one then as soon as i go to message her, the name is in blue again and says iMessage - its driving me mad!

Thx

Just_Me_D

Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
Hi Justme'D

I deleted the contact (it wasn't listed as iPhone in the contacts), I have created a new one then as soon as i go to message her, the name is in blue again and says iMessage - its driving me mad!

Thx