New to Apple-help me understand iCloud email

SWFLFFPM

Nov 28, 2011
Visit site
I am new to Apple-bought an iMac and 5s and am trying to integrate things into the ecosystem.

What is the advantage of an iCloud.com email address? If there are advantages I'll start switching things over.

Right now I have a comcast.net account and little things like marking items read or flags don't sync with my two devices. Would an iCloud email solve that?

jclisenby

Feb 2, 2012
Visit site
I would recommend getting a Gmail address. It offers much more than your Comcast account and it will also offer a lot more than an iCloud email account.

Tappin and Talkin from my iPhone 5

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I am new to Apple-bought an iMac and 5s and am trying to integrate things into the ecosystem.
Congratulation on getting your new iMac...:)...I'm sure you will be quite pleased with it.

What is the advantage of an iCloud.com email address? If there are advantages I'll start switching things over.

1. If you have or plan to have other Apple products like an iPhone or iPad, the syncing between the devices is a cinch.
2. Works flawlessly with native Apple apps like Mail, Contacts, iCal, Notes as well as Pages, Numbers & Keynote.
3. The "Find My Mac" feature
4. Documents in the cloud

Right now I have a comcast.net account and little things like marking items read or flags don't sync with my two devices. Would an iCloud email solve that?
Yes, it would.

SWFLFFPM

Nov 28, 2011
Visit site
Thanks for the responses.

What I am trying to figure out is what is different about iCloud EMail that would make it better than what I have now (Comcast).

jc-Isn't gmail tied to the Google ecosystem like iCloud is to Apple? What is the advantage there?

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site

What I am trying to figure out is what is different about iCloud EMail that would make it better than what I have now (Comcast).