Walled garden hatred..?

Richard Nieves

Jan 22, 2013
Visit site
So I was reading an article on windows 8 in the verge and in the comments a very heated battle about "walled gardens" (basically is only allowing apps through one App Store). Many people's referenced ios of course. I am still fairly new to the iPhone but have had ios devices before. Android has the ability to add apps outside of a market yet all I noticed from doing that was people could get free apps (I was a developer so I was Not about to do that to fellow dev's, but I did do it to try apps I wanted to buy and if I liked them, I bought them) however I know not many people think the same way. I also find that nothing I ever really needed wasn't in the store and if something wasn't, then I couldn't find it outside the store either. In windows case, I understand frustration but at the same time the average person likes to find things easier, and more importantly, find things that work and aren't virus infested. I am ALL for virus free and stable software. It's one of the reasons I like apple over android. I do like freedom, but not at the expense of stability and the irony to me, is that there are more polished apps on ios than android, INCLUDING apps not in the market. I love not having to search the Internet for apps I want then hope they are ok. The walled garden thing helps us all. Is apple too restrictive? Yes, not because they are strict on interface or coding but content. Apple has turned down apps for being in appropriate, sometimes just from simple things. It's not apples job to do that they just need parental/age verifications. No I would never want my kids to have access to bad content, but there are ways to prevent that. However, other than that, a walled garden isn't a huge big deal. Most physical products go through certification, this is not much different. And considering how rampant viruses are on PC and from what I hear android now? (Pretty sure I got some) it's a safer way for averag