rapid application development tool for iPhone?

steinbej

Apr 13, 2009
Visit site
Hi folks,

I am a longtime Palm OS user. I even dabbled in making my own Palm OS apps but only because there were software construction kits to do the work for me. (I used PDA Toolbox, to be specific.) I don't know how to write modern code. I have the iPhone SDK, I've looked through the tutorials from Apple, I know a bit of C, but even Apple iPhone programmer's tutorial "Hello World" app is extremely code intensive from my novice point of view.

So the obvious question I have regards whether any rapid application development tools have been developed for iPhone?

I guess very skilled programmers think the iPhone SDK itself is a rapid app dev tool, but I'm afraid I don't know enough to use it.

Any suggestions for basically a non-programmer to build simple apps for iPhone? I'm a physician, and all I want to do is custom build simple info-presenting apps for small specific information needs just like I had on Palm.

Thanks!
-- Josh

keveridge

Apr 14, 2009
Visit site
I'd recommend two books if you already have some C knowledge.

First, Learn Objective-C on a Mac, followed by Beginning iPhone Development (Mark Dalrymple and Scott Knaster)

They're great books and one follows the other.

I'd post links to Amazon but apparently I have too few posts to do so :(

M_of_IMAK

Apr 23, 2009
www.IMAKcreations.com
If you don't already have some C knowledge, I would recommend finding a local iPhone developer who can tutor you through the initial setup. I showed my brother (with no C experience) how to create a simple app in an hour. I did the same with my teenage son who developed an app for the app store. Don't despair - just dig in and look through Apple's sample apps and start from there.

calzone

May 14, 2009
Visit site
There is something called phonegab (phonegab .com) But they seem to have issues wirh OS 3.0, so lately lots of apps got rejected built with it.

steinbej

Apr 13, 2009