I'm refreshing my Apple device ecosystem - which option do I choose?

I

iMore Question

Hi,

I am a geology student at university, going to be heading into my second year in September. I currently own: base 21" iMac (2012), base 13" Retina MBP (2013), and an iPad 2. I use the iMac when I'm working in my dorm, and the macbook for taking notes when I'm out on campus. The iPad 2 is very rarely used, but this is because it's now very slow; apps lag and the screen just is not great compared to my macbook (I use that in its place for watching Netflix etc in bed).

Having done one year of university like this, I have come to realise that this setup (as cool as it is with features such as handoff and iCloud) is ridiculously excessive. As such, going in to my second year, I am wanting to reduce the number of devices I own, so it's more manageable and streamlined.

In terms of what I need to do with my devices: Web Browsing, PDF reading, using Office/iWork, very occasional light gaming (mostly Minecraft every few weeks or so), Watching video (iTunes/Netflix), some video conversion [.mkv to .mp4] every now and again (using Handbrake).
Ideally I'd like the thing I take to lectures to be as portable as possible. In lectures, the most I do is browse the web, read PDFs and type/write up notes.

Below, I have outlined some ideas I've got for next year's setup. I'll be using Apple's Student discount from their online store.

? Sell both iMac and Macbook Pro, get 15" Macbook Pro (with Skylake when it arrives).
? Sell both iMac and Macbook Pro, get 27" Retina iMac + iPad Air 2 (or 3 when it arrives).
? Sell both iMac and Macbook Pro, get 2015 Macbook + PS4 for gaming.

If you've got any other ideas, or you think some of mine are cataclysmically terrible, feel free to add your thoughts in the comments.

Thanks for the help.

Bigeric23

Aug 17, 2010
Visit site
You have to decide what you "really" need, but . . . here are my personal thoughts: