Is Sending & receiving SMS messages via Bluetooth possible with the iPhone?

mike.strock

Nov 1, 2010
Visit site
I use this feature heavily on my current phone. Is this possible on the IPhone? I'm seriously considering moving from my current phone to an IPhone 6 Plus, but I need this feature above all others.

Thoughts?

Mike.

mike.strock

Nov 1, 2010
Visit site
Re: Send & receive SMS via Bluetooth

>> Are you sure you mean SMS?

Yes, I'm 100% positive. I may not have a lot of posts here, but I'm not stupid. I know what SMS is. :( (sorry, not trying to be rude. I'm not a newbie).

I currently have a Lumia 1520 with Windows Phone 8.1 . It has this functionality built in. It's the one thing that is keeping me with the phone. Otherwise, as much as it pains me, I would switch to the iPhone because frankly, the app selection is better.

mike.strock

Nov 1, 2010
Visit site

My bluetooth headset is connected to my Lumia 1520. When I get an SMS message, I get a prompt in my ear 'Message from Karen Coulter. Read it or Ignore it' . I can then say 'Read it' and it reads it to my in my ear. Once I've 'read' the message, it says 'Reply or Done'. If I say 'Reply', it allows me to speak my reply. When I'm done speaking my reply, it allows me to send it or add to the message, or cancel the message. Works pretty fantastically great. It's not a function of the Bluetooth headset, it's in the phone OS.

Does that explain it?

Mike.

Ariel Babalao

May 8, 2014
Visit site

Conventionally SMS is carrier base supplementary service and stand for "Short Message Service" other type of message transferring exist but they are not call SMS, instead they are call iMessages, Skype messages, BBM, whatsapp etc...
The thing that differentiate SMS with other like services is the fact that SMS use your carrier infrastructure to forward short messages to your correspondent while other services alike use other medium like Bluetooth, Adhoc network, wifi, infrared, direct satellites etc...