1. iMore Question's Avatar
    Okay guys I have been digging around but I need some info regarding shared Photostream's.
    So here is my question- If i Have a shared Photstream and I add a video to it does it get downloaded to the other person's phone or is it getting streamed when they view it? I played around with this on my wife phones and checked her Photostream storage before and after I added a video to our shared stream. Now her storage never changed so I assume its being streamed when she views it? Now on my phone my storage changed by only 1mb(the video was a 20 sec cli[p so it was pretty big) so on my phone does it just reference the video or does it actually make a new copy of it in the Stream? Bit confusing
    Thanks
    04-14-2014 06:02 PM
  2. Just_Me_D's Avatar
    It's my understanding that on devices that did not generate the photo or video, copies are downloaded to them.
    iOS Gravity likes this.
    04-14-2014 06:34 PM
  3. Nuttz565's Avatar
    Thats what I initially thought as well. Im just stumped as to why the storage on my wives phone did not change? Her Photostream storage and main storage stayed the same after the video was viewed.
    04-14-2014 07:24 PM
  4. Jaguarr40's Avatar
    This came out of the 7.1 manual and there is a lot more under the photo section but see if this helps at all. If not look in the manual for the other Photo Stream info.

    My Photo Stream
    View the photos you take with iPhone on your other devices, automatically. Turn on My Photo Stream in Settings > Photos & Camera. You can also turn on My Photo Stream in Settings > iCloud > Photos.
    Photos you take are automatically added to My Photo Stream when you leave the Camera app and iPhone is connected to the Internet via Wi-Fi. All photos added to your Camera Rollincluding screen shots and photos saved from email, for exampleappear in My Photo Stream.
    Photos added to My Photo Stream on your other devices also appear in My Photo Stream on iPhone. iOS devices can keep up to 1000 of your most recent photos in My Photo Stream; your computers can keep all My Photo Stream photos permanently.
    Note: Photos uploaded to My Photo Stream dont count against your iCloud storage.
    Manage My Photo Stream contents. In the My Photo Stream album, tap Select.

    Save your best shots to an album on iPhone: Select the photos, then tap Add To.

    Share, print, copy, or save photos to your Camera Roll album: Select the photos, then tap .

    Delete photos: Select the photos, then tap .
    Note: Although deleted photos are removed from My Photo Stream on all your devices, the original photos remain in the Camera Roll on the device where they were originally taken. Photos that you save to another album on a device or computer are also not deleted. To delete photos from My Photo Stream, you need iOS 5.1 or later on iPhone and on your other iOS devices. See support.apple.com/kb/HT4486.
    TurboTiger likes this.
    04-14-2014 08:02 PM
  5. TurboTiger's Avatar
    Tks for the review Jag.
    Good Luck
    Jaguarr40 likes this.
    04-14-2014 09:12 PM

Similar Threads

  1. Photostream not working
    By iwicked in forum iPhone 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-15-2015, 11:10 PM
  2. My photo stream vs shared streams?
    By Brad Semenick in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-13-2014, 09:40 AM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-11-2014, 04:24 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-2014, 10:12 AM
  5. Don Melton shared memories of Steve Jobs
    By iMore.com in forum iMore.com News Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-10-2014, 11:30 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD