Quick questions about water resistance...

F0REVERY0UNG-

Oct 17, 2012
Visit site
I just purchased my Apple Watch today, and I know that it's supposed to be water resistant, but I just wanted some real world accounts of its actual resistance. I'd never submerge it in water, that's stupid, but I work in the medical field, so i'm constantly washing my hands all day, and I want to make sure I don't have to take it off every time I wash my hands. Should I be concerned and cautious about water splashing on the watch, or will it be able to handle it with no problems? Does anyone here have any experiences with the watch getting wet? Please share, any answers are greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

Just_Me_D

Ambassador Team Leader, Senior Moderator
Jan 8, 2012
Visit site
I've had my Watch for over a year now, and I've worn it all day, every day since purchasing it. I've worn it in the rain and I wash my hands numerous times every day and it has no effect on it whatsoever in my experience.

Last edited:

maflynn

Feb 4, 2015
Visit site
I've not showered with it, or gone swimming, but I have run in the pouring rain with it on, and it got soaked - no ill effects. I've also run it under the faucet to clean it off as well.

Branta

Retired Network Moderator
Oct 2, 2012
Visit site
Apple Watch is rated IPx7 (details here) which is about as as high you are likely to find in a wearable device. It is adequate for normal usage and casual water up to about 1m (call it 3ft) including washing your hands or the car. IPx7 is not adequate for prolonged continuous immersion or swimming where movement will cause local dynamic pressure increases.

Full details of IP ratings at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_Code

KAWZ

Oct 22, 2014
Visit site