Laptop Thoughts...Mac? PC?

DaniPhiSig

Feb 9, 2012
Visit site
Hi all!

So my HP laptop has officially died. Like, the motherboard committed suicide died (it was almost 10 years old).

Needless to say, I am in need of a new laptop. Here is my struggle.

I have always used PC. Desktop was a PC, laptops have all been PC's. I use an IPhone, and have for years. (LOVE IT..so much I skipped on waiting for my upgrade and got myself a gold shiny 6!)

I am thinking of going over to Mac completely. I have been comparing the Air and the Pro...my budget doesn't allow for the highest end, but I know that the Mac's are very good machines, so even with a lower end one, it's still getting my money's worth.

I am an event planner and producer. I'm on the road a lot. I use my laptop to email, internet, watch movies on flights/road, layout design (not crazy graphic, but enough that I need to actually see in color what I am doing), spreadsheets, documents, and the occasional graphic design situation (not really skilled but I can do the basics). Some of my clients do send me their documents on a CD/DVD versus a flash drive, so while an internal drive would be nice, I could get an external if I needed too.

Realizing that this is stepping into the Mac vs PC debate, what would you experts recommend and why? For Mac, do you prefer Pro or Air and why?

BreakingKayfabe

Sep 12, 2008
Visit site
My god, if you were doing that work on a 10 year old PC laptop I don't see how even the lowest-cost MacBook Air wouldn't suit your needs. But that is if you even want to go that route. If you stick with a PC notebook and pay less but get more specs (RAM, CD drive, etc.) then I don't see a reason to move over to a Mac. I base this solely on the fact that your 10 year old laptop fulfilled your needs, present day.

Algus

Apr 22, 2013
Visit site