OtterBox Defender Series iPhone 5 Review

LSglock89

Apr 3, 2011
Visit site
Please see post #27 for an update about this case

I have had my OtterBox Defender for my iPhone 5 a couple days now and I thought I would give you all an overview of the latest OtterBox has to offer.

Let me start off by saying, it is a shame to cover such a beautiful, sexy phone. It is not something I do with light consideration. I work in a warehouse environment and I need rugged protection, especially in regards to drop protection.

I am quite familiar with OtterBox; I have used them on all of my previous devices. There have been some shortcomings with them in the past, but no issues that have not kept my phone protected.

One thing that I can tell that was improved was the silicone outer cover. It feels much more rigid than before. I know one issue I had with previous OtterBox cases was the fact that the silicone would just “give up” over time. The silicone with those cases was much softer.

Just for those who like numerical data, I have compiled information on the silicone itself. It weights approximately 1.0/1.1 ounces. It is .151” thick on the corners and .075” thick on the back.

Now the plastic hard shell seems to lock up tighter than before. There are more points at which the case snaps together. My hope with this is that it will allow very little dust if any in the case.

The data on the case I compiled is as follows. Total weight is approximately 1.5 ounces and the thickness is .550”.

OtterBox lists the weight of the case at 4.0 ounces, but my data shows a number far different with a total weight of approximately 2.5 ounces.

The plugs for the ports are quite thick and also lock in very nicely. It is almost a struggle to get them out of place. This should help reduce the amount of dust that gets in the case as well. They work nicely with the OEM headphones and lightning cable as far as accessibility.