Help with Apple Music...

brandonflan

May 5, 2015
Visit site
I am still an iPhone rookie. I've had my 6+ (128gb) for about 2 months now. Apple Music is intriguing, and I want to know what's the best (AND MOST SIMPLE) way to get all the tracks I have on my computer (~7500 songs) AND take advantage of the extensive Apple Music library?

FULL DISCLOSURE: I have enabled iCloud Music Library and I'm subscribing under FamilyShare. I'm considering using iTunes Match as well, since I can't locally sync anymore but would I need two libraries? One for my match, and one for Apple Music?

I need advice. This is getting a bit complex for me.

Tartarus

Ambassador
Feb 20, 2014
Visit site
No, iTunes Match and iCloud Music Library are coexisting in the same environment.

iCloud Music Library is the same as iTunes Match, with added benefits, like adding music to your library right from Apple Music. It's available for listening till you decide to end your subscription to Apple Music.

iCloud Music Library has the same engine as iTunes Match, for when it comes to matching your library, the only difference is, iCloud Music Library puts DRM to matched songs ****. iTunes Match has no DRM.

**** disclaimer: DRM is only put to songs if you decide to delete those songs from your iTunes and to download them back from Apple servers, or if you have more computers, if you download those songs to other computers.

So if you keep your own music backed up and don't delete them from your iTunes, there will in no any case put any DRM to it.

I hope this was helpful. Feel free to ask additional information.

To be able to have all your ~7500 songs on your phone, just add them on your desktop to iTunes and they will either be uploaded to or matched with iCloud Music Library. But be aware that in order to match songs with iCloud Music Library/iTunes Match, the title artist tags of those songs have to be the same as on Apple Music.

brandonflan

May 5, 2015
Visit site